Beta Comments

Providing feedback to three of my peers on their beta presentations will hopefully help them in their final project proposals.

Firstly, I listened to Rumeysa’s beta presentation. Her proposed project focuses on her researching into targeted advertisements and how often we come across ads about topics that we talk about. My comment on Rumeysa’s digital artefact can be seen here. Her artefact is going to be an animation about what this type of advertising can bring in the future.

Reflecting on my comment, I mentioned how I liked the idea of making it a creepy mood – this is a good reflection of how targeted advertisements can be freaky. I suggested that she could look at other technologies such as google home and Alexa to give her another idea for her digital artefact. The main reason for this was to help motivate Rumeysa in creating a great digital artefact. I left her a link (found here), which can help her with talking about other devices and how they can take advantage of people in a way. I believe my feedback will help Rumeysa learn more about targeted advertisements where she can reflect on my comment and use my feedback to create a great digital artefact.

My second comment can be accessed here.

Ruby is launching a podcast series called ‘Music Bizniz’, which encompasses Ruby doing one on one interviews with local artists in the area. Her original idea was to create a 3-part podcast series and link it to a previous project she is completing in another subject, however she thought her question in her other subject was too broad therefore, her project now has turned into an interview series that is posted to YouTube and Soundcloud once a week that focuses on changes in the music industry and how these changes will extend to the future.

Reflecting on my comment on Ruby’s post, I believe my feedback has the potential to be very helpful in creating a successful podcast and digital artefact. I offered Ruby two links to sources that can give her some suggestions to focus on in more depth. I said that her podcast series is a unique and relevant one to focus on as we don’t know what the future holds for the music industry. The first link can be accessed here, which offered an idea to Ruby that she can focus on the future being an uncertain adventure for music artists. The second link provided an idea for Ruby to look at the effects of Spotify being a competitor for record labels. I offered these links to spark new ideas that can be researched in depth as they relate to the future of tech/music culture of the future. I believe my feedback was valuable information that can be used to make important decisions for Ruby’s digital artefact and my comment was predominantly complementary.

Lastly, my comment on Georgia’s beta presentation can be seen here. Georgia’s digital artefact is to emphasise the effect of physical health (body image) and to educate the risks involved with this on her instagram. She posts photos to her account highlighting the extremes that image editing allows us to easily manipulate photos.

Critically evaluating my comment on Georgia’s post, I decided to encourage her into looking at articles online that convey the effect of body image on both men and women. The first source, I decided to offer her an idea that she should focus on both men and women and compare the statistics of the effect this issue has on both genders. The second link I offered was an academic article to portray how women’s mood and body image can be effected from particular celebrity images on instagram. The main reason for this feedback was to help Georgia look down different paths to back up her reason for doing this artefact and to provide some evidence. My feedback will hopefully motivate Georgia to look into more sources in depth, to help her for continued learning and to assist her in the creation of her digital artefact.

Overall, critically evaluating my comments on all three of my peers, I believe it will be motivating and also energising to look down different paths to find evidence and links that can help with each persons digital artefact.

 

Leave a comment